Saint Marie Records

Carta / The Faults Follow SMR027

Pressing Information

Release Date: 8/20/13

Digital available at: 

01. The Faults Follow
02. The Iowa Fight Song
03. The Hollow Greeting
04. Header
05. The Reapers are the Angels
06. Failure to Thrive
07. The Last Name of Your First Love
08. Morse Code
09. Sargasso
10. Saragossa
11. Paper Suit

Recorded over an unusually stressful period for the band (family members with cancer, death, rehab, and divorce), there was a desire to abandon previously established templates and try something new . Paranoid inner-vacuum micro-dub and ruminative post-space hypno-drone? The first Carta album to feature vocals throughout, the band soaked in influence from Young Marble Giants, Disco Inferno, and latter day Hood, with electronic elements giving lift to the songs, and members swapped instrumental duties around as the songs called for it.

The Faults Follow was recorded by the band at home and at Studio 3431, and was mixed by Jay Pellicci (the Drift, Deerhoof, Death Cab for Cutie) at Tiny Telephone in San Francisco.