Saint Marie Records

Seasurfer / Under The Milkyway... Who Cares SMR106

Pressing Information

Release Date: March 24th, 2017
Vinyl limited to 500 Dark Pink White Splatter

1. Tricolore
2. Too Late For Goodbyes
3. Falling
4. If You Leave
5. Daydream
6. The Roads We Take
7. By The River
8. Confusion
9. Symétrie
10. Trust The Path Unseen

Opener ‘Tricolore’ is a full on assault and maybe the most exciting thing Saint Marie Records has ever released. It’s a lurching blurry glorious mess, infected with the teutonic plague and loving every minute of it.

The guitar solo on ‘If You Leave’ will melt your bones; the synth hook will steal your soul. New vocalist Julia Beyer, an acclaimed visual artist in her own right, sings like an angel whose wings have been dipped in tar. She sings in english and french. She sings like someone well acquainted with death.

‘By The River’ announces itself with a spaceship lifting off. It’s a brutal coldwave classic, spoken vocals laid across a violent fall down the stairs, but it’s Symétrie ’ that’s the true stunner. It opens with an elegy of fuzz, impossibly dramatic, perched on a high precipice looking down, and when the drums enter at the 2-minute mark, pounding like an adrenalized heartbeat, the experience becomes too much to bear and the song ends with our hearts in our throats.

This one has to be heard to be believed. under the milky way...who cares throws down the gauntlet, an album that transcends its genre, that leaves all the pretenders in the dust. Saint Marie Records takes yet another bold step forward. And if there’s any justice left in this world, then the world will be theirs.

‘a massive, moving cloud of nocturnal shoegaze...masters of their chosen field’ – Allmusic

‘brilliant’ - The Big Takeover

‘Not some meandering, gauzy shoegaze record, these songs really move and it’s definitely one of the better records I’ve heard in a while.’ - Dagger Zine